Potty Mouth

Let’s just get this straight. I am a girl. I am the youngest of 3, and my only brother was 8 years older than me. I do not understand boy humor. The words poopy, toot, fart, diarrhea, buttcrack or penis are not at all funny to me. Nor do I enjoy hearing A and Z repeat these words over and over to each other like they’re doing a performance at the Comedy Store, followed by outbursts of uncontrollable laughter. My husband tells me it’s, “just boy stuff.” Well, that’s fine, if they want to do it, they can do it out of my earshot. Not in the car where I am held captive. Not at the table when I am trying to eat food, and not when they are supposed to be quiet and going to sleep. And it seems the more I try to correct it, the funnier the words become to them. I would like to believe my boys will soon, or maybe eventually grow out of this…but I think I have to face the grim reality that my husband is often the one who gets them going. And then my hopes were really dashed on Easter when they talked to their “papa” on the phone and his first words were shout outs of poopy, and a continuation of other words. All my hard work undone. “Fart!”

5 thoughts on “Potty Mouth

  1. Diane- We are having the exact same battle at our house… except my children are only 4 and 2!! Looks like we have a long road ahead of us…. let me know if you discover the secret to making it stop 🙂

  2. BAHAHAHHA Di that is sooo funny! as the mother of 10 and 8 year old boys i am sorry to say that it does not get any better!! In fact now miss 5 also thinks that it is the best source of humour…so I have totally thrown my hands up in surrender and decided if you cant beat them join them!!! start saying it back to them they will think you have lost your marbles and laugh uncontrollably, their laughing will be infectious and before you know it you will all be rolling around laughing at the word FART!!! xox

    • Is this someone I know cheeky monkey? I haven’t been able to figuret it out. Thanks for the comment. We do it sometimes but then have to tell them to quit cuz they then take it to the extreme!

  3. Hi Di!
    I really believe it is a guy thing. Even the grown up boys like the sound of the words and the actual sounds! I don;t get it! But, with a son entering the world soon…I guess I need to get use to it too! Sweet tea parties and farting sounds….oh joy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

